The school was founded by a group of parents who began meeting in early 2015 with the intention to open a democratic school in September 2016. We were joined in early 2016 by Aaron Keohane, a former staff at Summerhill and founder of the bilingual Paris Sudbury School.

The founder members are Ciara Brehony, Jackie Spillane, Carol Kim (retired from committee in spring 2016), Sonja Luescher Keogh, Mark Keogh, Rick Mettler and Aaron Keohane (joined in early 2016).
Ciara, Sonja, Rick, Aaron along with Kevin McLoughlin became the first staff members in September 2016.